Screening read from the public record
How many of the documented conditions for locked metal does Antamina (Compañía Minera Antamina S.A.) show?
Elevated
Several sourced conditions coincide here. DETECT™ is the instrument that would confirm or rule out value the current route is not designed to capture.
What drives this read5 sourced factors · same inputs, same score, every time
- +16Deposit type. Described as Giant Cu-Zn(-Mo-Ag) skarn, zoned outward from porphyry centres (brown-garnet endoskarn through green-garnet skarn). Skarn systems are documented as carrying Bi, Te, In and Co alongside the base metal. source
- +12Pathfinder elements named. The filing names As, Bi in the feed. source
- +12Reported recovery. Reported recovery leaves a material fraction unrecovered: "92% Cu, 79% Ag, 46% Mo". source
- +8By-product not carried in the resource. Named as by-product or co-product: Molybdenum, silver, lead/bismuth. The resource statement located carries no grade or contained-metal figure for it. source
- +4Operating history. Roughly 25 years of processing under successive routes. source
This is a count of documented conditions in the public filings, not a probability and not a claim that metal is present. It moves only on what a cited source already states. A DETECT™ characterisation is what turns it into a measured answer.
Step 1 · what the public record shows
Antamina (Compañía Minera Antamina S.A.)
NI 43-101 Technical Report on Antamina Mining Operation, Peru
Compiled from public filings. Every figure below links to its source; where the public record is silent, that is stated, not inferred. Figures are machine-extracted and not yet independently verified by a qualified person — confirm against the linked filing before relying on them.
Identity and ownershipCompañía Minera Antamina S.A. (Minera Antamina) · Peru · Copper and zinc
- Operator
- Compañía Minera Antamina S.A. (Minera Antamina)highAntamina NI 43-101 (p.1-1), p.1-1 — as of 2024-12-31
- Jurisdiction
- Peru — San Marcos District, Huari Province, Ancash Department (~270 km north of Lima)highAntamina NI 43-101 (p.1-3), p.1-3 — as of 2024-12-31
- Primary commodity
- Copper and zinchighAntamina NI 43-101 (p.1-6 to 1-9), p.1-6 — as of 2024-12-31
- Deposit type
- Giant Cu-Zn(-Mo-Ag) skarn, zoned outward from porphyry centres (brown-garnet endoskarn through green-garnet skarn)highAntamina NI 43-101 (Section 7, p.7-1 to 7-23), p.7-1 — as of 2024-12-31
- First production
- 2001highNS Energy — Antamina copper and zinc mine — as of 2001
- Years in operation
- 25derived from first production year
Disclosed interests
- Interest 1
- BHP Group Ltd — 33.75%highAntamina NI 43-101 (p.1-1), p.1-1 — as of 2024-12-31
- Interest 2
- Glencore plc — 33.75%highAntamina NI 43-101 (p.1-1), p.1-1 — as of 2024-12-31
- Interest 3
- Teck Resources Ltd (via Teck Base Metals Ltd) — 22.50%highAntamina NI 43-101 (p.1-1), p.1-1 — as of 2024-12-31
- Interest 4
- Mitsubishi Corporation — 10.00%highAntamina NI 43-101 (p.1-1), p.1-1 — as of 2024-12-31
Byproduct and co-product commodities
- Byproduct 1
- Molybdenum, silver, lead/bismuthhighAntamina NI 43-101 (p.1-6 to 1-9), p.1-6 — as of 2024-12-31
Reported production2 reported figures
| Metal | Quantity | Basis | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Copper | 85900 t | attributable | FY2025 (year to 31 Dec 2025) (Teck 22.5% attributable share) | Teck 2025 Production and Sales Updatehigh |
| Zinc in concentrate | 102300 t | attributable | FY2025 (year to 31 Dec 2025) (Teck 22.5% attributable share) | Teck 2025 Production and Sales Updatehigh |
Public technical reportingNI 43-101, 2025
NI 43-101 (primary) — NI 43-101 Technical Report on Antamina Mining Operation, Peru, 2025, filed by Teck Resources Limited (filed on SEDAR+ 19 Feb 2025) on SEDAR+highNI 43-101 Technical Report on Antamina Mining Operation, Peru
Canada (TSX / TSX-V) · expected language: Mineral Resource / Mineral Reserve
Reported mineral resource and reserveCu
- Resource reported
- Measured, Indicated, Inferred
- Reserve reported
- Proven, Probable, Proven+Probable
- Grade stated, % Cu
- 0.66 to 1.23, by category
- Cut-off
- not stated
- Effective date
- 2024-12-31
- Resource includes reserve
- not stated
Tonnage, grade and contained metal by category are set out in the filing itself: Antamina NI 43-101, Table 1-3, Table 1-3.
Processing and metallurgyflotation
- Process route
- not stated
- Reported recovery
- 92% Cu, 79% Ag, 46% Mo
- Ore character described in the filing
- none of that family used
- Deleterious elements named
- none stated
Cu geometallurgical ore: average recovery 92% Cu, 79% Ag, 46% Mo. Cu-Zn ore: 83% Cu, 84% Zn, 60% Ag. Overall Cu recovery range 73.72-93.40%, Zn 72.48-83.70%.
Antamina NI 43-101 (p.1-6 to 1-7), p.1-6- Process route
- not stated
- Reported recovery
- Molybdenum recovery is comparatively low (~46% in Cu ore); no Mo recovery reported from Cu-Zn ore
- Ore character described in the filing
- none of that family used
- Deleterious elements named
- As, Bi
Deleterious elements bismuth and arsenic, managed by selective campaigning of geometallurgical ore types. Molybdenum recovery is comparatively low (~46% in Cu ore); no Mo recovery reported from Cu-Zn ore.
Antamina NI 43-101 (p.1-6 to 1-7), p.1-6- Process route
- flotation
- Reported recovery
- not stated
- Ore character described in the filing
- none of that family used
- Deleterious elements named
- none stated
Processing method: SAG + ball mill comminution then flotation, producing separate Cu, Zn, Mo and Pb/Bi concentrates; Cu/Zn concentrate piped 302 km to Punta Lobitos (Huarmey). Tailings impoundment adjacent to the mill; reclaim water reused.
NS Energy — AntaminaWhat was sought and not found5 points stated plainly
- 100%-basis production for FY2025 not captured (only Teck's 22.5% attributable share cited).
- No public element-deportment-by-mineral-phase data — this is exactly what DETECT would address, and its absence must be stated, not implied as hidden value.
- Cu-Zn resource sub-rows and full measured/indicated/inferred underground tables abbreviated in this sample; pull the complete Tables 1-1/1-2 for production use.
- Reserve/resource figures machine-extracted from the report summary, not hand-verified against the source page (verification_status = machine_extracted_unreviewed).
- Figures are machine-extracted from the cited filings and not yet independently verified by a qualified person (verification_status = machine_extracted_unreviewed). Confirm against the cited filing before external use.
Assessment
The 2024 NI 43-101 (effective 31 Dec 2024, filed by Teck on SEDAR+) reports 550 Mt of proven and probable reserves at 0.92% Cu, 0.67% Zn, 11.7 g/t Ag and 0.023% Mo, with plant recoveries of ~92% Cu and ~46% Mo in copper ore and ~84% Zn in copper-zinc ore. Public resource reporting characterises grade, tonnage and bulk-flotation recovery; it is not designed to resolve element deportment by mineral phase, nor where the unrecovered molybdenum, the unrecovered silver, or byproduct metals such as bismuth and selenium report across the concentrate, tailings and residue streams. Whether value resists conventional flotation or reports to tailings at a skarn of this scale is a testable question that a DETECT characterisation is built to answer. Element deportment by mineral phase is not resolved in the public reporting located, and the figures here are machine-extracted from the cited filings and not yet independently verified.
Screening signals
Each item below is something a cited source states. Nothing here asserts that unrecovered material is present.
Reported metallurgical recovery is 92% Cu, 79% Ag, 46% Mo.
Antamina NI 43-101 (p.1-6 to 1-7), p.1-6Reported metallurgical recovery is Molybdenum recovery is comparatively low (~46% in Cu ore); no Mo recovery reported from Cu-Zn ore.
Antamina NI 43-101 (p.1-6 to 1-7), p.1-6The filing names As among the deleterious elements in the feed.
Antamina NI 43-101 (p.1-6 to 1-7), p.1-6The filing names Bi among the deleterious elements in the feed.
Antamina NI 43-101 (p.1-6 to 1-7), p.1-6Molybdenum, silver, lead/bismuth is named as a byproduct or co-product commodity, and the resource statement located carries no grade or contained-metal figure for it.
Antamina NI 43-101 (p.1-6 to 1-9), p.1-6The deposit is described as Giant Cu-Zn(-Mo-Ag) skarn, zoned outward from porphyry centres (brown-garnet endoskarn through green-garnet skarn). Porphyry systems are documented as commonly carrying molybdenum, gold, silver, rhenium and tellurium as byproduct or unrecovered constituents.
Antamina NI 43-101 (Section 7, p.7-1 to 7-23), p.7-1Open technical questions
Public resource reporting characterises grade and tonnage to a code standard. It is not designed to resolve element deportment by mineral phase. These are the questions this operation’s public reporting was not built to answer.
The resource statement reports contained Copper and zinc but no deportment for the molybdenum, silver, lead/bismuth carried in the concentrate; in which mineral phase that value resides is not resolved by the assays disclosed.
Grounded in: Molybdenum, silver, lead/bismuth is named as a byproduct or co-product commodity, with no separate grade in the located resource statement. source
Reported metallurgical recovery is 92% Cu, 79% Ag, 46% Mo; where the unrecovered fraction reports across concentrate, tailings and residue is not resolved by the disclosed assays.
Grounded in: The filing reports a metallurgical recovery of 92% Cu, 79% Ag, 46% Mo. source
The filing names As, Bi among the deleterious elements in the feed; the host phase of each in feed and residue is not resolved by the disclosed assays.
Grounded in: The filing names As, Bi as deleterious element(s). source
The deposit is described as Giant Cu-Zn(-Mo-Ag) skarn; public code-compliant reporting characterises grade and tonnage to a code standard but is not designed to resolve element deportment by mineral phase in this material.
Grounded in: The deposit type is reported as Giant Cu-Zn(-Mo-Ag) skarn, zoned outward from porphyry centres (brown-garnet endoskarn through green-garnet skarn). source
How those questions get answered
These are testable questions about element deportment by mineral phase, which code-compliant public reporting is not designed to resolve. A DETECT™ desk study is the instrument built to weigh them: it reads this site's public record alongside any assays, mineralogy and recovery data the holder can supply, and states how likely it is that value sits in a form the current route does not recover. It measures nothing and assumes nothing. Measurement comes later, from a RECOVER™ trial on a representative sample.
Step 2 · how likely is it?
Is the metal at Antamina (Compañía Minera Antamina S.A.) locked in a form your process cannot see?
The read above screens the public record. It cannot see your rock. A DETECT™ desk study takes what you already hold, your assays, drill data, mineralogy, historical recovery and tailings records, and assesses how likely it is that metal at your site sits in a form conventional processing does not recover.
CHF 5,000
Web-direct rate for one site. Excludes all taxes. No sample required.
- A 25 to 30 page report on one site, built from your own data and the published record for that deposit type.
- Which metals could be held in which host phases, and the evidence for and against it at your site.
- A stated likelihood, in plain words, including an honest “unlikely” where the evidence points that way.
- If it is worth pursuing: exactly what to sample and which tests to run next.
What it does not do is tell you how much you would recover. Nothing on a desk can. That is measured on a real sample in a RECOVER™ trial, and this report tells you whether that trial is worth running.
Book the DETECT™ desk study: CHF 5,000Prefer to be invoiced? Ask for an invoice and we will send one for the same CHF 5,000.
Secured by Stripe · NDA available · Terms and conditions